top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMs. Baxter

6/2020 PreK-K Clown Cones


Wayne Thiebaud (pronounced Tee-bow) is an American artist. He is 99 years old and lives in Sacramento, California!

Thiebaud loves color and paint and, of course, DESSERT! 

Watch the short video below to see more of his delicious paintings and learn a little bit about his work.



Let's draw our own Clown Cones! I demonstrate in the video below.

First I start with the capital letter C. I draw it the correct way on the left and then backwards on the right. I connect the bottom of those two marks with a wiggle linethat looks like the ice cream melting on top of the table.

On top of the letter Cs I add a BIG TRIANGLE (or the capital letter A) for the cone. You will notice that the line at the bottom of the triangle is curved, not straight. This makes it look like the cone is holding the ice cream scoop.

I added details like, DIAGONAL lines to the cone, eyes, and a nose.

You can use whatever coloring materials you prefer... markers, crayon, paint, colored pencil...

The last step, to really make it look like a Wayne Thiebaud artwork, is to add a SHADOW behind the cones. Thiebaud painted very strong shadows and sometimes they were BLUE, not black. Give it a try!

I can't wait to see your delicious cones!


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page